WAXI - Centre for Exploration Targeting

West African Exploration Initiative - WAXI 4 started on the 13th September 2022

Geochemistry and Metallogenic ProcessesIntegrated Exploration TargetingStructure and ArchitectureTime Scales and Geodynamics

Start Date:
1 Aug 2022
End Date:
30 Oct 2025
West Africa


The West African Exploration Initiative (WAXI) is a unique collaborative research program focusing on the tectonics and mineral potential of the West African Craton.

The overall aim of West Africa Exploration Initiative is to enhance the exploration potential of the West African Craton through an integrated program of research and data gathering into its “anatomy’, and to augment the capacity of local institutions to undertake this form of work.  The capacity building activities for Stage 2 were completely underwritten by AusAID (the Australian Agency for International Development). The initiative covers the whole of the Leo-Man Shield and its immediate surrounds, and includes the following countries: Burkina Faso, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Ghana, The Gambia, Mali, Mauritania, Senegal, Niger, Sierra Leone and Togo.

Key motivations for undertaking this initiative are to assist exploration companies in focusing their activities in areas of maximum prospectivity and to help local Geological Surveys and Universities in the region in their role of providing pre-competitive data and information.


Project Coordinator:

Lead Facilitator:

  • Agnieszka Piechocka

Additional Information

Participating Partner Research Orgs: British Geological Survey CNRS, Toulouse Council for Geoscience CSIRO École des mines, de l'industrie et de la géologie (EMIG), Niamey Ecole Nationale d'Ingenieurs Abderhamane Baba Touré, Bamako ENS Lyon Innsbruck University Institut national polytechnique Félix Houphouët-Boigny, Yamoussoukro IRD, Toulouse Laurentian University Ministry of Mines and Geology of Republic of Senegal, Dakar Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane TTGeo, Ouagadougou Université d’Abomey-Calavi Université Félix Houphouët Boigny, Abidjan Universitty of Rennes University Abdou Moumouni, Niamey University Nangui Abrogoua, Abidjan University Nice-Sophia-Antipolis, Nice University of Cheikh Anta Diop, Dakar University of Chile, Santiago de Chile University of Ghana, Accra University of Ibaban, Nigeria University of Joseph Ki Zerbo, Ouagadougou University of Lome University of Lorraine, Nancy University of Man, Man University of Paul Sabatier, Toulouse University of Sciences, Techniques and Technologies of Bamako University of Tasmania, Hobart University of Twente, Enschede University of Western Australia, CET, Perth